Are Oats Gluten-Free?


If you have been recently diagnosed with gluten intolerance, you might ask yourself: Are oats gluten-free?

Despite oats being considered one of the healthiest breakfast options due to their high amount of fiber, some people that have gluten intolerance or allergy decide to give up oats completely without knowing their real origin and the truth about the gluten in them.

According to the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center, oats are scientifically gluten-free since they aren’t a type of rye, wheat or barley grain (the whole grain groups that contain gluten).

The reason for oats to be considered wrongly a grain with gluten is because they are usually grown on the same land with gluten grains which means that oats can be contaminated with wheat, barley, or rye at harvest time or during processing.


Oatmeal Gluten Free



Gluten-Free Oats

A gluten-free lifestyle doesn’t have to exclude oatmeal or oats in general from the diet.

If you used to love oatmeal on a regular diet, you can still enjoy gluten-free oatmeal. You just have to select a brand that offers certified gluten-free oats, be very careful with the oat’s source and confirm that the producer guarantees that these oats didn’t have any exposure to cross-contamination with gluten grains. These types of oats are usually labeled as “certified gluten-free”.

WARNING!! Despite the fact that oats don’t contain gluten, it has been proved that a small percentage of people (10-15%) with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity do not tolerate avenin, the protein found in oats, which means that these people need to ban also oats from their diet.

If you suffer from celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, the best way to determine if your body tolerates oatmeal, is to try some (always using a certified gluten-free oat brand), start with a small amount, and see if there are any problems.

You should always speak first with your physician and then try to include cautiously small amounts of gluten-free oatmeal to your diet. If any of your previous celiac disease symptoms return, you should eliminate oats from your diet.

Gluten Free Very Best Tiramisu Recipe

Gluten free Tiramisu Dessert features a blend of coffee, coffee liqueur, mascarpone cream, and cocoa, all wrapped in lightly sweetened... Read More

Prep Time icon Prep Time 30 Minutes
Difficulty icon Difficulty Moderate
Serves icon Serves 10

African Beef Stew Recipe

From the savory depths of tender beef to the aromatic spices, this slow-cooked African Beef Stew is just the... Read More

Prep Time icon Prep Time 15 Minutes
Difficulty icon Difficulty Easy
Cook Time icon Cook Time 140 Minutes
Serves icon Serves 4 - 6

Gluten-Free Mediterranean Olive Bread

This Gluten-Free Mediterranean Olive Bread features salty olives and a crispy crust. The finishing touches are, dipping this wholesome... Read More

Prep Time icon Prep Time 15 + 3 hours resting Minutes
Difficulty icon Difficulty Easy
Cook Time icon Cook Time 50 Minutes
Serves icon Serves 1 loaf


Gluten-Free Certified Oats

If you tolerate oats, there are a large variety of gluten-free certified oats on the market, always make sure to double-check labels as most of the brands produce regular oatmeal as well.

Some of the most common gluten-free instant and normal oat brands are:


Gluten-Free Recipes With Oats



a glass filled overnight oats and fruit.


Overnight Oats with Chia and Flax: Healthy and fast breakfast that can be prepared the night before in just 5 minutes!

Gluten-Free Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie: Oats can be used in countless recipe ideas besides traditional morning oatmeal. These cookies are chewy and packed with chocolate chips and raisins!

Gluten-Free Oatmeal Raspberry Muffins: Why should you eat plain oatmeal when you can have this wholesome gluten-free oatmeal raspberry muffin that is high in protein, rich in fiber, and vitamin C?

If you want to find more gluten-free oatmeal recipes, visit our gluten free recipe catalogue!

Salmon Pops With Piquant Dill Sauce

These Salmon Pops With Piquant Dill Sauce make for delicious healthy low-carb appetizers. Or, for the nights when you... Read More

Prep Time icon Prep Time 15 Minutes
Difficulty icon Difficulty Easy
Cook Time icon Cook Time 12 Minutes
Serves icon Serves 16

Immune Boosting Turmeric Celery Soup

This Flavourful Immune Boosting Turmeric Celery Soup is made with only ten ingredients. The key ingredients are celery, carrots... Read More

Prep Time icon Prep Time 15 Minutes
Difficulty icon Difficulty Easy
Cook Time icon Cook Time 30 Minutes
Serves icon Serves 6

Yellow (Wax) Beans With Garlic and Tomatoes

When visiting Greece, I picked up this amazing yellow bean recipe. The fresh beans are flavoured with olive oil,... Read More

Prep Time icon Prep Time 10 Minutes
Cook Time icon Cook Time 15 Minutes
Serves icon Serves 4