Gluten-Free Baked Yam Falafel

star rating icon star rating icon star rating icon star rating icon star rating icon
Average Rating: 5 | Rated By: 5 users

Middle Eastern Gluten-Free Baked Yam Falafel packed with flavour and warm spices. This is a protein-packed vegan falafel made with yams, chickpeas, plenty of herbs and spices, lemon juice and sesame seeds. Traditionally falafel is made from uncooked ground chickpeas or fava beans and then deep fried. Since I am keeping January as healthy as possible, this most delicious yam falafel is baked, thus cutting back on unwanted fats. In this recipe, I added yams and sesame seeds, keeping the falafel light and adding extra nutrition. With so many little flavour nuances and the comfort of chickpeas and yams, these small bites are outstanding! 

Are falafels healthy?

In this recipe, I used chickpeas, adding fiber and protein. Chickpeas are also a good source of essential vitamins and minerals. For the yams, they are packed with vitamin C, potassium, B complex vitamins and betacarotene. And sesame seeds will add iron to the mix.  All in all, this is a nutritionally packed snack. I prefer to serve falafel as a healthy snack with yogurt because they are super filling and keep you energized for hours. If you are following a gluten-free, plant-based diet, freshly made falafel is an excellent choice for a savoury gluten-free snack.

What is falafel, and is it gluten-free?

Falafel is usually a deep fried ball, or sometimes a patty made with chickpeas, also called garbanzo beans, sometimes fava beans or a combination of both. The use of chickpeas is mostly used in Middle Eastern countries, such as Syria and Jordan. The combination of chickpeas and fava beans or just fava beans is believed to originate from Egypt. Falafel is the ultimate Israeli street food, served in warm pitta shells with various toppings, like tomatoes, tahini sauce, pickled turnip, chopped peppers, cucumber or humus. For the question, is falafel gluten-free? The answer is, not always. The reason is that falafel is often made with wheat flour. So be cautious when eating falafels in restaurants or from street vendors.


  • I cup cooked mashed yam, (about 1 medium yam)
  • 1 (14 oz.) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained well
  • 3 garlic cloves, grated or minced
  • 3 Tbsp. Fresh lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp. Chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 Tbsp. Extra virgin olive oil plus some for brushing
  • 1 1/2 tsp. GF ground coriander
  • 1 tsp. GF ground cumin
  • Pinch of GF cayenne pepper (optional)
  • 1 tsp. Himalayan fine salt
  • 2 Tbsp. Gluten-free all-purpose flour blend
  • 1 tsp. GF aluminum-free baking powder
  • 2 Tbsp. Sesame seeds
  • *As an Amazon Associate and member of other affiliate programs, I earn from qualifying purchases. Please check out my sponsorship and disclosure policy page for more details


  • To cook the yam, line a baking pan with foil. Wash and pierce the yam. Bake at 400 F for approximately 1 hour or until tender. Cool, peel and mash with a fork
  • Add chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice, cilantro, olive oil, spices and salt to a food processor. Pulse until mashed but not pureed
  • Transfer mixture into a bowl. Add mashed yam, flour and baking powder. Stir to combine. Cover the bowl and refrigerate for a minimum of 2 hours or overnight
  • Remove from the refrigerator and stir in sesame seeds. Using a cookie scoop or a tablespoon form into small balls about the size of walnuts, and place on a lightly oiled baking sheet. Lightly brush falafels with olive oil and bake at 375 F for 20 minutes turning halfway through
  • Leave a Comment

    One Response to Gluten-Free Baked Yam Falafel

    • kiki November 30, 2020

      this is probably the best falafel I have ever made!

    Add a Rating

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Similar Recipes

    Cauliflower and Chickpeas In Light Curry Sauce

    Cauliflower and Chickpeas In Light Curry Sauce

    This tasty gluten-free vegetarian curry dish takes only minutes to prepare. The cauliflower and chickpeas with added yams and red peppers are cooked in a light coconut curry sauce. This tasty vegetarian curry dish is a budget-friendly, low-fat and low-cal recipe. Enjoy with one of our many gluten-free rice side¬†dishes   Read More

    Prep Time icon Prep Time 20 Minutes
    Difficulty icon Difficulty Easy
    Cook Time icon Cook Time 20 Minutes
    Serves icon Serves 4
    Immune Boosting Chickpea and Parsley Soup

    Immune Boosting Chickpea and Parsley Soup

    The Chickpea and Parsley Soup is most delicious, healthy and satisfying. Made with chickpeas, parsley and fresh lemon juice is what makes this a healthy soup. The simple ingredients in this chickpea soup, such as¬†parsley, a herb that will boost the productivity of one of our liver’s enzymes. This herb will also help detoxify our […] Read More

    Prep Time icon Prep Time 10 Minutes
    Difficulty icon Difficulty Easy
    Cook Time icon Cook Time 90 Minutes
    Serves icon Serves 8
    Broccoli and Chickpea Quinoa Salad

    Broccoli and Chickpea Quinoa Salad

    This hearty broccoli and chickpea quinoa salad is deliciously flavoured with a light vinaigrette and fresh herbs. Serve as a side with your favourite main, or as a vegetarian entree. This is a delicious light vegan salad Read More

    Prep Time icon Prep Time 15 Minutes
    Difficulty icon Difficulty Easy
    Cook Time icon Cook Time 10 Minutes
    Serves icon Serves 4