Are Vinegars Gluten Free?

When it comes to condiments, vinegar is often on top of the list. When you think of vinegar, the first thing that comes to mind is salad dressing. It may surprise you, but soups and stews, sauces and even gluten free desserts often use vinegar in recipes. Vinegar can also be used for cleaning, hair conditioning, skin care, pet care and much more!

 

vinegar

 

 

The question remains, are vinegars gluten free?

 

 

MOSTLY

Distilled white vinegar is made from grains, and as per Canadian celiac association the distillation process removes all trace of gluten and is considered gluten free. However, for some that are very sensitive to gluten, they have reported gluten-like symptoms to distilled white vinegar.

 

 ALWAYS

Vinegar made from apples, wine or rice is absolutely, naturally gluten free. These include apple cider vinegar, rice wine vinegar, and red and white wine vinegar

 

 PROBABLY NOT

One vinegar that is distilled and probably not safe for most following a gluten free diet is malt vinegar. Malt vinegar contains barley, and although the fermentation process removes most of the barley, I would not add it to my gluten free vinegar list. Also always read your labels, because some vinegars may be infused with flavours that may contain gluten

 

CONCLUSION

Vinegar such as apple cider vinegar, red and white wine vinegar, balsamic vinegar, rice wine vinegar and sherry vinegar are all safe to use when following a gluten free diet

 

 

 

vinegar